top of page

Governors Page

Tim Excel.jpg


Head of Governors

Welcome to the governors web page of Ysgol Y Deri. We as governors are very proud of our school but in particular, the staff who work so hard and give so much to ensure the pupils are getting the best from their education. 

The role of the governors is one that covers all aspects of life within the school but importantly we understand what the school wants to do and how it does that. We then see that the school is working so that the pupils have the best possible education.


To do this we examine what we want the school to achieve and work together as Governors, Staff Parents and Pupils in a team to make certain it all works. Our work is also to challenge the Headteacher to provide us as Governors with evidence that all the staff are working hard and all the pupils achieving the best that they possibly can. Finally, we have to see that the finances of the school are in order and that the money we have from the Vale of Glamorgan council is well spent.

Membership of the Governing Body

Mr Tim Exell / LEA Governor

Mr Christopher Britten / Headteacher

Ms Rhiannon Packer / Community Governor

Vacancy / Community Governor

Mrs Rowena Gilbert / Parent Governor

Mrs Nadine Honeybone / Community Governor

Mr Justin Hoard / Parent Governor

Mr David Jackson / LEA Governor

Mrs Martine Wildin / Parent Governor

Mr Ken Pile / LEA Governor

Ms Natalie Hoard / Parent Governor

Mr Clayton Williams / LEA Governor

Mr Michael Surcombe / Parent Governor

Mrs Rose Whittle / LEA Governor

Mr Steve Jones / Staff (Non-teaching) Governor

Miss Sian Davey / Staff (teaching) Governor

Mrs Joanne Western / Clerk

Mrs Faye Norris / Staff (teaching) Governor

Mrs Josie McAllister - Observer

Mrs Claire Gould - Observer


Mr Tim Exell


Mr Michael Surcombe

bottom of page